The Rambling Begins…

16 May

June 1st or 2nd, 2010 (depending on local time zone).

Sincerely,
C.L. Tanager

15 Responses to “The Rambling Begins…”

  1. Donald Mills May 17, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    About time you found yourself a permanent home, Clifton. Looking forward to some common sense advice with just the right amount of troubling digression.

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 19, 2010 at 1:50 am #

      Thanks very much for the best wishes, Don. Your trailblazing efforts to reclaim the web from today’s youngest and stupidest is the inspiration for my somewhat slow dive into the world of blogging.

  2. Cooper Green May 18, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    I am moist with anticipation. It’s probably the hat.

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 19, 2010 at 1:55 am #

      If moisture is a routine problem, Cooper, perhaps consider taking some sodium silicate. I know the package warns not to take it internally, but I once got distracted mid-bag by a particularly alarming moral panic and consumed it along with the rest of the beef jerky before I came to my senses. (Well, three out of five, anyway. The others are kind of “come and go.” Mostly “go.”)

      Nowadays, I just stuff the little packages into the inside of my hatband, which wicks unwanted moisture away with only a slight degree of skin discoloration.

      My apologies for any dampened hats, but the humidity has been merciless.

      Thanks for the anticipation, Cooper. I’d be as surprised as anyone if this turns out to be a good idea.

  3. elizabeth3hersh May 18, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    I’m up to my eyeballs in the five blogs I subscribe to, but I know this is going to be good, so make it six.

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 19, 2010 at 1:57 am #

      Elizabeth-

      Thanks very much for adding me to what I would imagine is an illustrious incoming flow of email, most of it fashion/health-related or containing various offers to improve appendages you don’t even have.

      If you’re having trouble picking me out of the lineup, just look for the hat.

  4. alantru May 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I agree with the old fart.

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 19, 2010 at 1:59 am #

      Alantru-

      I couldn’t agree with you more, in your agreement with Don. The man’s one in a million. (His brother is about 700,000 in a million, but he does know his way around a pair of leather pants. And a restraining order.)

      Thanks for the best wishes, Alan. I only hope I can live up to what the kids are calling the “hype.” (I hope I’m using that correctly, not so much for the sake of younger and more judgmental eyes, but for the sake of the English language in general, which has fallen into a horrendous state of disrepair.)

  5. nursemyra May 23, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    what kind of rambling are we talking here? long walks over the moors? I’ll be in on that

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

      Nursemyra-

      It should entail all of that: long walks on the moors, short walks on the moors, hasty retreats from the moors, slightly ahead of rabid and possibly possessed moorhounds, mildly entertaining digressions in the Upper Moors Shopping District…

      I’ll think you’ll find it mostly entertaining and slightly worrying.

      Thanks for the visit, NM. I hope to see you once this place is up and running/rambling.

      • nursemyra June 2, 2010 at 3:34 am #

        “Slightly worrying”? I’ve got the appropriate drugs to handle that

  6. Dave Hambidge May 24, 2010 at 4:03 am #

    OMG, I nearly missed this “event” happening! I wait with baited kippers to see CLT in full flood, teehee!

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 24, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

      Dave-

      I’m looking forward to it as well. Without the editorial constraint of other bloggers’ comment threads, it’s bound to be full of surprises and wordiness.

      Besides, I’ve come to the conclusion that being “comprehensible” or “concise” is overrated.

  7. Fundamental Jelly May 26, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    Even though I am up to my mangina in STUFF, I still plan to visit. And just when we thought all the words were used up. All the best with it Mr. Tanager.

    • Clifton L. Tanager May 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      Fundamental-

      Thanks very much for the best wishes and conditional promises of patronage, mangina stuff-permitting. I look forward to seeing your ever-shifting avatar among the comment threads.

      It turns out that all the words were not used up, only the last 30 years worth or so. I’m planning on returning “twitter” (among others) to its rightful place as the leading descriptor for the noise churchgoers at a pot luck make.

Leave a Reply

